Working Together to Protect our Community and Advance our Academic Mission

National Labs 

The University of Chicago affiliated National Laboratories and the Marine Biological Laboratory, have continued to fulfill mission-critical functions while following the guidelines of the DOE and other federal, and state and local authorities. As laboratory operations ramp up at Argonne, Fermilab, and the Marine Biological Laboratory, the health and safety of our employees will remain our first priority and new health protocols and pacts have been implemented to keep you safe in these facilities.

 Additional Questions

For lab specific guidance, please visit these corresponding websites:

 Frequently Asked Questions

What is the focus of the National Labs planning group?

The National Labs planning group worked to establish regular communication between leaders at the University, Argonne, Fermilab and the Marine Biological Laboratory in order to share information, ideas, and plans for resumption of research, education, and other work in each setting. This included determining ways that the UChicago Medical Center can best support the laboratories.

Who is in the National Labs planning group?
Name Unit
Amber Kenney   Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Courtney Davis Curtis Office of the Vice President for Operations and Chief Financial Officer
Daniel Arber Biological Sciences Division
David Gibson  Argonne National Laboratory
Fabiola Delgado Office of Research and National Laboratories
Jamie Stalker  Argonne National Laboratory
Joseph Kanabrocki Office of Research and National Laboratories
Juan de Pablo (chair) Office of Research and National Laboratories
Ka Yee C. Lee  Office of the Provost
Karen Kim  Office of the Provost
Kate Gregory  Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Katie Callow-Wright Office of the Executive Vice President
Kim Sawyer  Argonne National Laboratory
Kim Taylor Office of Legal Counsel
Laurence Hill Office of Research and National Laboratories
Luciano Ristori  Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Martha Michels  Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Michael Ludwig University Research Administration
Mike Edelen  Argonne National Laboratory
Nigel Lockyer  Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Nipam Patel Marine Biological Laboratory
Paul Kearns  Argonne National Laboratory
Russell Herron Office of Legal Counsel
Smita Singh  Office of Legal Counsel
Theodore Stamatakos Office of Legal Counsel
Tracey Quinn Office of Research and National Laboratories

If you have been exposed to or test positive for COVID-19, promptly report to, even if you have not been on campus.